• Welcome To Mopar1973Man.Com LLC

We are a privately owned support forum for the Dodge Ram Cummins Diesels. All information is free to read for everyone. To interact or ask questions you must have a subscription plan to enable all other features beyond reading. Please go over to the Subscription Page and pick out a plan that fits you best. At any time you wish to cancel the subscription please go back over to the Subscription Page and hit the Cancel button and your subscription will be stopped. All subscriptions are auto-renewing. 

47RE Valve Body removal

Hi all,

Doing a service on my 47RE Fluid, Filter, band adjustment. Since I have the pan down, would like to put in my TransGo shift kit. Any how to's on how to remove the 47RE? I found them for the 48 & 46 but would like a 47 specific so I don't mess it up.

Once I have it down, TransGo did send a detailed instruction. But since I'm an Auto newb, you guys are my backup!

Thanks,

Dave

It is Beyond easy to do.

-Drop the pan / drain fluid ( put a trans pan plug while you have it off)

-Remove the "e" clip holding the park rod in place

- undo the TV lever from the top of the rooster comb

- Undo the Bolts holding hte VB in.  ( keep in mind you will drain another 3-4 quarts of fluid)

- drop the vb.

Take your time.  The hardest part is that stupid E clip.   make sure you have a backup clip haha.  I have lost more of those stupid little things than anything else.

While Auto Trannies as a hole can be "scary" remember, its only one bolt at a time.  Each part of the tranny really isn't that complex.

Good Luck and remember take your time.

Don't think I'm going to tackle the VB this time. I don't have unlimited time. I really would be more comfortable w a 47RE specific vid or pix so I know where & what everything is. Just adjust bands, fluid & filter. With 208K & for what I know about the truck it could be due for a rebuild.

Thanks,

Dave!