• Welcome To Mopar1973Man.Com LLC

We are a privately owned support forum for the Dodge Ram Cummins Diesels. All information is free to read for everyone. To interact or ask questions you must have a subscription plan to enable all other features beyond reading. Please go over to the Subscription Page and pick out a plan that fits you best. At any time you wish to cancel the subscription please go back over to the Subscription Page and hit the Cancel button and your subscription will be stopped. All subscriptions are auto-renewing. 

Wanting 30-50 more HP

Hi newbie here I am just getting my first diesel pickup a 1999 Dodge 2500 SLT 5 spd which I will mostly use for towing a fifth wheel and would like to up the HP .Towing will include steep hills 5-10% grades 3500-9500 ft . I was thinking about better intake air flow and 4" exhaust and a exhaust brake . I see Van Aaken , Quadzilla XZT , smarty and Edge EZ listed most for chips/programmers . Can I just and a programmer for the extra 30-50 hp or do I have to add a exhaust elbow too . I have a Bully Dog boost gauge already and a EGT gauge that is not hooked up yet and was thinking of adding a fuel pressure gauge also.

• Owner

Personally... I would do...

• 4" Exhaust
  • BHAF
  • Quadzilla Adrenaline
  • RV275 injectors

As for the exhaust to this day, I'm still running 3" exhaust after 310k miles and never had a EGT's issues with all the stuff I tow. 4" will not drop EGT's very much if at all for typical highway driving.

BHAF is the best filter option we've got for these trucks way better than any washable filter on the market. Avoid the K&N, AFe, and S&B filters not worth it.

RV275 injectors I ran before and was capable of reaching 25-27 MPG.

The reason for the Quadzilla over any other module is not for the HP/TQ. It about the ability to directly control timing.

Capture+_2017-08-06-08-47-03.png