• Welcome To Mopar1973Man.Com LLC

We are a privately owned support forum for the Dodge Ram Cummins Diesels. All information is free to read for everyone. To interact or ask questions you must have a subscription plan to enable all other features beyond reading. Please go over to the Subscription Page and pick out a plan that fits you best. At any time you wish to cancel the subscription please go back over to the Subscription Page and hit the Cancel button and your subscription will be stopped. All subscriptions are auto-renewing. 

High amp alternator

The truck I just got is on its 3rd alternator in a couple years according to previous owner, all have had diode failures causing the TC lock/unlock condition. Assuming that a quality high amp alternator is going to last longer than a over the counter replacement unit..

I was looking at nations alternators but the one for the 24v diesel looks to have a 2 pin plug on the back of it but mine has 2 ring terminal studs. Im new to dodge and cummins. What am I missing here? Does the 98 24v have one off parts or something??

• Owner

The biggest killer for alternators is starting the truck on a cold morning and leaving just idle with the grid heater banging against the alternator. The alternator can't keep up and the idle speed is too slow to cool the diodes so they fail. Alternator failures are more common in the winter time than summer time hence from the cold start load on the batteries, 190 amp or 95 amp load of the grid heaters and idle speed that only gives partial charging ability. Even if you get a bigger alternator you still going to put a lot a stress on it if you continue the same habit.  

This truck is new to me I haven’t even been able to put it in to service just a couple little drives to try to diagnose problems.