• Welcome To Mopar1973Man.Com

We can see that your guest and been lurking about. When you register on the Mopar1973Man.Com site you'll be able to interact with all the other members. This is the most friendliest Cummins forum you'll ever join. Take the time right now and  REGISTER  on the Mopar1973Man.Com this will open up many more options and functions on the website. Everyone is very friendly and helpful just ask questions and everyone will help you out the best they can. 

Help with Mapping GPS

Some here may already know that I'm not very tech savvy. I recently updated to a hand held GPS with maps, a Magellan Triton 1500. I know I'm a little behind the times here. I also downloaded the Vantage Point software. That was an adventure in itself for me. The Magellan manual is terrible for a guy like me. It tells you that the software allows you to create maps and put them on an SD card and use them on the GPS. That's it. Nowhere does it explain how. So my questions for now are:

Where do you get these maps? Are there free ones? If you down load them how do you get them into the Vantage point software? Once in the software how do you save them and get them on the SD card. I don't mind paying for the maps either. NatGeo came with but there's a fee. I just want to make sure I can make it all work before I buy any maps. What I would like to do is create detailed maps of my favorite spots and use them since the base map is not very detailed at all. The road I live on does not even show. If anyone knows of a video or written tutorial that would be great. I did look at some writeups but so many skip over the key points that they take for granted everyone knows and that's where I get confused.:think::ahhh:

Thanks for any replies.

Yeah, I'm seeing that more and more about Magellan since I've been searching around. I had a Garmin before.