• Welcome To Mopar1973Man.Com LLC

We are a privately owned support forum for the Dodge Ram Cummins Diesels. All information is free to read for everyone. To interact or ask questions you must have a subscription plan to enable all other features beyond reading. Please go over to the Subscription Page and pick out a plan that fits you best. At any time you wish to cancel the subscription please go back over to the Subscription Page and hit the Cancel button and your subscription will be stopped. All subscriptions are auto-renewing. 

ECM Auto or Manual does it matter?

Hello all,

I am fairly new to this sight but see that there are many very knowledgeable people here. I have a 1999 2500 that I have swapped from the 47re to Nv4500 with southbend dual disc clutch, new VP, quadzilla tuner, airdog raptor 4g lift pump. Now I have a bad ECM. I am wondering if when having my new ecm programmed I should request automatic settings since my truck is originally an automatic or if I should have it programmed with the Manual trans settings? Will having the manual ECM negatively affect the original automatic PCM? Any help is greatly appreciated!

Im assuming it was working fine before the ECM went out I would imagine just get another one just like you had. Im making an educated guess here but I would think if you were to change the ECM to something the truck never had and not the PCM at the same time there would be some compatibility issues. The next problem is that to my knowledge all  PCMs are VIN programmed so it may not even be possible to get a new manual PCM to work with an automatic VIN. Ive personally used autoecmstore.com for replacements in the shop and although i havent had anything like this come up at a dealership they may be able to provide some insight. I will admit that I have a very limited knowledge of PCM/ECM programming but I will be learning alot more when i get my buggy going Im using a Megasquirt3 to tune a Honda V6 that Im running in a Baja Bug.