• Welcome To Mopar1973Man.Com LLC

We are a privately owned support forum for the Dodge Ram Cummins Diesels. All information is free to read for everyone. To interact or ask questions you must have a subscription plan to enable all other features beyond reading. Please go over to the Subscription Page and pick out a plan that fits you best. At any time you wish to cancel the subscription please go back over to the Subscription Page and hit the Cancel button and your subscription will be stopped. All subscriptions are auto-renewing. 

Thoughts on fuel cooler

I work in the oilfield, and was helping one of the mechanics fix one of our coil tubing wet kits, namely the hydraulics cooler and fan. It got me thinking about transmission coolers, which led me to think about using one for a fuel cooler, fan and all. Would it be a waste?

I also read about FedEx(I think) had problems with their fleet trucks breaking down because of their vp pumps, so they used heat sinks and apparently the problems dropped dramatically. Anyone hear about this? 

Just thinking too much again about how I can prolong the life of my pump, different ideas, etc. 

• Owner

Maybe down in New Mexico. Sure don't want to have cooler up here I've already seen -20*F this winter.

The other part is if you running Quadzilla you want about 80 to 140*F fuel temperature which is fine. Above the 140*F is getting too warm. Typically the fuel temperature and the IAT run side by side for temperature. 

Capture+_2018-08-24-14-37-15.png

Guest 04Mach1

Doubt a fuel cooler would do much for our small ISB's. Inadequate fuel flow through the VP causes the VP to overheat not that the fuel entering the VP is too hot. On most heavy duty diesel engine applications the "fuel cooler" actually does the opposite of cooling by heating the fuel to close to engine coolant temperature since most fuel coolers are water cooled using the coolant circulating through the engine. 

• Owner