• Welcome To Mopar1973Man.Com LLC

We are a privately owned support forum for the Dodge Ram Cummins Diesels. All information is free to read for everyone. To interact or ask questions you must have a subscription plan to enable all other features beyond reading. Please go over to the Subscription Page and pick out a plan that fits you best. At any time you wish to cancel the subscription please go back over to the Subscription Page and hit the Cancel button and your subscription will be stopped. All subscriptions are auto-renewing. 

New dodge owner in need of help!

First of all, I hope this is the right category and I do all of this right, this is my first time on this website. I have recently bought a 2001 24 valve with 193000 miles on it. The dealer that I bought it from did not have any decrcription if the truck other than that it was a clean truck. I am completely uneducated in diesel trucks and honestly mechanics in general. This is my first diesel truck and my first vehicle in general. the truck is an automatic, and although I’ve hear manuals are more fun, more reliable, and all around better tranny’s, an automatic was the only one that I could find that didn’t cost an arm and a leg, wasn’t rusted out, and didn’t have tons of miles. From what I can see on the truck the truck has an RP-4G-100 pure flow airdog, a new transmission pan, gauges, and an edge comp box. I have been led to believe that the comp box has not been wired correctly to the fuel pump due to most people having the result of black smoke especially when on level five, but I have not even seen a puff. Basically, I want to make this truck a reliable daily driver, with the hopes of adding some horsepower later on. What should I do in order to make this truck reliable? I have been suggested a shift kit and torque converter from another forum. By the way, the truck also shifts sort of rough between 3 and 4 gear sometimes. This does not bother me, but if it is a problem I would like to address it be