• Welcome To Mopar1973Man.Com LLC

We are a privately owned support forum for the Dodge Ram Cummins Diesels. All information is free to read for everyone. To interact or ask questions you must have a subscription plan to enable all other features beyond reading. Please go over to the Subscription Page and pick out a plan that fits you best. At any time you wish to cancel the subscription please go back over to the Subscription Page and hit the Cancel button and your subscription will be stopped. All subscriptions are auto-renewing. 

Strange p1689 code with fuel knock

Hey there so I’m a noob to this forum but not the cummins scene. I have utilized this forum for tons of info in the past with great success... until now I’ve never not found the answer. Long story short I installed a quadzilla adrenaline in my 02 2500. 10 seconds after starting the truck started smoking(so bad the fire dept was called by 3 neighbors) and developed an intense fuel knock. Contacted quadzilla and sent the module in, they confirmed it was a dud and replaced it. The iquad was claiming with the truck off that it made 42psi of boost off the map sensor(replaced the map with a cummins sensor as per Marco at quadzilla recommendation when the original sensor was fine)and that the egt was over 1800 degrees with out even installing the egt probe. However I uninstalled the entire adrenaline and the fuel knock persisted. Did the bluechip vp44 diagnostic and had a bad vp44. Install a new one, and still have a bad fuel knock, with a p1689 code that once deleted returns immediately without even starting the truck. I have a steady 12v power supply on pin7 of the injector pump harness. Good fuel pressure off a raptor pump. Waiting on a break out box to see if the new injection pump is bad or if the problem is else where. Biggest issue is this is my only company work truck and it tows my wood chipper(own a small tree service) any input appreciated