• Welcome To Mopar1973Man.Com LLC

We are a privately owned support forum for the Dodge Ram Cummins Diesels. All information is free to read for everyone. To interact or ask questions you must have a subscription plan to enable all other features beyond reading. Please go over to the Subscription Page and pick out a plan that fits you best. At any time you wish to cancel the subscription please go back over to the Subscription Page and hit the Cancel button and your subscription will be stopped. All subscriptions are auto-renewing. 

is that a head gasket leak

99 dodge ram 2500 turbo diesel. 5.9 24v. 

I am curious if this is a head gasket or freeze plug leak. its leaking coolant from back of block. tech reckons plug. That corrosion however looks ominous. Ive been quoted $2600 to repair with removing head etc. the pics are from below. As a complete novice can i drive the truck to another shop for a 2nd estimate. 

Head3.jpg

Head2.jpg

Sure looks like a hg leak, can't see the head from this angle. I don't see why you couldn't drive it to a different shop, just make sure to keep an eye on antifreeze if it's cold where you are, or you could use water for now too. You can put some bars leak for temporary fix.   https://www.amazon.com/Bars-Leaks-HDC-Radiator-Tablet/dp/B000KKND3Q/ref=asc_df_B000KKND3Q/?tag=hyprod-20&linkCode=df0&hvadid=312181776237&hvpos=1o1&hvnetw=g&hvrand=7732679388213945053&hvpone=&hvptwo=&hvqmt=&hvdev=m&hvdvcmdl=&hvlocint=&hvlocphy=9018656&hvtargid=pla-569057243725&psc=1

• Like 1

@sam, if you can get your hands on a radiator pressure tester, you would likely find which is leaking.  I would pump up the tester to 15 psi with a cold engine.