• Welcome To Mopar1973Man.Com LLC

We are a privately owned support forum for the Dodge Ram Cummins Diesels. All information is free to read for everyone. To interact or ask questions you must have a subscription plan to enable all other features beyond reading. Please go over to the Subscription Page and pick out a plan that fits you best. At any time you wish to cancel the subscription please go back over to the Subscription Page and hit the Cancel button and your subscription will be stopped. All subscriptions are auto-renewing. 

Tool Talk...

JAG1

I am by no means an expert, I've used a few at work, but it might depend on the surface material you are checking temperature on, and the temperature range of accuracy you are looking for. Maybe even distance away from the object. Some of the better IR devices allow you to select an emissivity number to adjust based on the material.

• Like 1

I like the idea of one that shows ambient temperature at the same time though. Are you more or less just looking for spot checks that a laser dot would be good for, or like an IR camera that you can capture images of? I know you can spend crazy amounts of money on IR cameras, tens of thousands, from brands like Fluke and FLIR. But I'm sure there are knock off brands more suitable to have at home that wouldn't destroy the wallet.

• Staff

Probably the spot checks is best for mechanical work. Checking for hot calipers or wheel bearings. Nice to be able to check how each cylinder is doing on a fully warmed up engine by targeting near each exhaust port. Is that right? Only seen that done one time, but seems a good diagnostic approach.

I'd say regular lazer gun would do good for vehicles. IR Is nice for trouble shooting panels to see what's drawing heat in circuit boards, like lose connections etc.

Hey if you get one check out moon light vs shade, I seen it on YouTube where moonlight is way colder then things in moon shade. 

• Staff