• Welcome To Mopar1973Man.Com LLC

We are a privately owned support forum for the Dodge Ram Cummins Diesels. All information is free to read for everyone. To interact or ask questions you must have a subscription plan to enable all other features beyond reading. Please go over to the Subscription Page and pick out a plan that fits you best. At any time you wish to cancel the subscription please go back over to the Subscription Page and hit the Cancel button and your subscription will be stopped. All subscriptions are auto-renewing. 

Clutch Safety Switch

According to the wiring diagram, it should work without any side affects.  If you decide to do it, just be sure you continue to practice your learned engine starting safety habits - no starting the engine without being fully seated in the driver seat.

- John

• Like 1

I got ya, Im a farmer by trade and everything I have is old school including me. lol  I was made before the safety seals were put on everything. I dont know how we made it. 2002 is new tech around here. Im lying I actually owned a 2005 dully for about 5 years, sold it and bought another tractor.
Have a good one my friend.

• Staff

I had the safety switch eliminated on my 1st gen. It caused some near misses one of which my truck almost drove thru the shop rear wall. It pushed the table saw into the work bench and the work bench started to go thru the wall before I stopped it. Worse because it drove over a bucket of old engine oil laying there, a big mess. Sometimes you just forget....stupid me, I hit the key to start when standing outside the truck. Truck door hit the shop and pinched my legs hard. I was bruised for awhile. Lucky I stayed with the truck till I got it shut down.

Second time I told the tire shop to make sure the clutch is pushed in when starting but, he forgot and it hit the front wall with a big glass window before he got it stopped.

Truthfully, I would never go without a clutch safety switch JMHO.