• Welcome To Mopar1973Man.Com LLC

We are a privately owned support forum for the Dodge Ram Cummins Diesels. All information is free to read for everyone. To interact or ask questions you must have a subscription plan to enable all other features beyond reading. Please go over to the Subscription Page and pick out a plan that fits you best. At any time you wish to cancel the subscription please go back over to the Subscription Page and hit the Cancel button and your subscription will be stopped. All subscriptions are auto-renewing. 

Intermittent high idle??

I am a newb to diesels. Truck runs great and has a new 12V motor in it. I have searched many forums looking for similar issues. It doe not act fuel related...Here is my issue....Drove it to the store and when I came out to start it, the engine would only run with the starter cranking and would die when the key went back to the run position. However, when I gave it some pedal, then the truck stayed running when the key was returned to the run position. Truck seems to start normally a day later. The issue I have is when I let off the throttle, the idle will stay high for a moment (1100-1200 rpm) before it drops to normal. It does not matter if the truck is in drive, park or moving down the road. So when I am coming up to a stop sign and take my foot off the accelerator, the engine RPM will drop and the I get an little burst of rpm then it will hang out at the 1100-1200 range for a second or 2 or maybe longer before it drops to the normal idle.Any ideas what to look for??I was thinking the TPS controlling a low idle solenoid but not sure if this thing even has a low idle solenoid.