• Welcome To Mopar1973Man.Com LLC

We are a privately owned support forum for the Dodge Ram Cummins Diesels. All information is free to read for everyone. To interact or ask questions you must have a subscription plan to enable all other features beyond reading. Please go over to the Subscription Page and pick out a plan that fits you best. At any time you wish to cancel the subscription please go back over to the Subscription Page and hit the Cancel button and your subscription will be stopped. All subscriptions are auto-renewing. 

Chrysler gas engines

I was a boat mechanic before I was forced into retirement for medical reasons. Very many marine engines were Chrysler "225s" (hp) were the reliable 318 cid engines. For power I loved the 350 hp Chrysler 440 cid... many large cruisers powered by twins. Posted Image It was a great place to work, I might add.

In those happy days my ride was a '68 Plymouth Road Runner (first year issue) 383 / 335 hp

Posted Image

A fabulous car for the open road.

• 3 weeks later...

Chrysler made some runners, I had a 57 Plymouth with a 230 that ran above 22 mpg most of the time, a 67 Chrysler with a 383 3 speed that did 18 or better and lasted about 411k before I gave it away, a 60 Dodge pickup with a 318 4 speed 3/4 ton did 14 mpg the first 150k and the next 100k did about 12 and used oil 1 or 2 qts per tankful, a 74 Dodge with 383 auto 220k and the seats looked late model, a 69 Chrysler auto did 19 mpg and broke the converter at 320k.Put more parts on then and they run more miles.keydl

• 4 weeks later...

You forgot to mention the 340. I had a 1969 Dodge dart GTS that I built about 12 years ago. I had the 340 get treated by **** Landy (God rest his soul) with a full blue printing, balancing, and head porting. The end result was good for 450ish HP. I had to sell it to get my truck in 1999. I miss that car.

• Owner