• Welcome To Mopar1973Man.Com LLC

We are a privately owned support forum for the Dodge Ram Cummins Diesels. All information is free to read for everyone. To interact or ask questions you must have a subscription plan to enable all other features beyond reading. Please go over to the Subscription Page and pick out a plan that fits you best. At any time you wish to cancel the subscription please go back over to the Subscription Page and hit the Cancel button and your subscription will be stopped. All subscriptions are auto-renewing. 

Grid heater problems

So to start off be patient with me please, I’m new to diesels, and working on my own stuff in general. I’m young and don’t know a whole lot about anything. But a few months back I had to replace the vp44 on my 2001 5.9 Cummins. Me and my dad had to work on it at separate times since he was working nights and I was working days. Well we eventually got it off and the new one on. And when we got what we thought was everything plugged back in and ready to go we went to try it and the two wires that connect to the two studs on the same side of the intake horn for the grid heater we’re left undone and we’re laying against something. So when we started it I went to the front and seen the wires spark, I ran around and shut the truck off. Now when we try to connect the two wires to the studs, wires get hot and start smoking. Even when both batteries are unplugged when we put the wires on and try to reconnect the batteries the wires to the batteries start getting hot. Does anyone have an idea what could be going on, like I said I’ve not worked on diesels a whole lot and am needing help. 

• Owner

Most likely the grid heater relay are stuck on. Double check the relays on the fender to be sure they have opened. If stuck your going to have to replace them. Very possible that when the wires where left touching the block that the high current welded the contacts solid so it can't release.