• Welcome To Mopar1973Man.Com LLC

We are a privately owned support forum for the Dodge Ram Cummins Diesels. All information is free to read for everyone. To interact or ask questions you must have a subscription plan to enable all other features beyond reading. Please go over to the Subscription Page and pick out a plan that fits you best. At any time you wish to cancel the subscription please go back over to the Subscription Page and hit the Cancel button and your subscription will be stopped. All subscriptions are auto-renewing. 

ULSD....

After looking around here and elsewhere, I still haven't been able to determine when or if our trucks were first designed to run on the ULSD.

But....maybe I just missed that little piece of info. ;)

• 8 months later...

Moparman, this may be a dumb question so forgive me but I am new to the Diesel world. If my '07 was designed for the new ULSD fuel is there any gain or reason to mix 2 stroke oil in the fuel? Also, some guys (not online) have told me because my truck was built in late '06, and it doesn't say use ULSD anywhere on it, that I don't have a ULSD engine. Does any of this make sense? Sorry If I hijacked this thread but it seemed relevent to the discussion. - Eveready77

Before I bought my 07 last July I asked the dealer mechanics if I should buy a 5.9L or the 6.7L. ULSD was a concern of mine and the availability of it. The answer was the 5.9 because it can burn both. As far as using a additive Mike has a lot of good research on this site to read. If you are able to get bio-diesel where you are at then you really don't need a additive as there is great lubrication and cleaning properties in bio-diesel. Even more then 2-stroke oil. I am in Minnesota and 2% bio-diesel is mandated. For that reason I don't use any additive.