• Welcome To Mopar1973Man.Com LLC

We are a privately owned support forum for the Dodge Ram Cummins Diesels. All information is free to read for everyone. To interact or ask questions you must have a subscription plan to enable all other features beyond reading. Please go over to the Subscription Page and pick out a plan that fits you best. At any time you wish to cancel the subscription please go back over to the Subscription Page and hit the Cancel button and your subscription will be stopped. All subscriptions are auto-renewing. 

What can you tell me about the auto shutdown function?

Newbie here, play nice. My son's 2001 24V 6Sp manual has started an interesting/frustrating new habit. Seems as if once the beastie gets up to temperature and your changing throttle positions I'm getting an uncommanded shutdown. I verified this phenomenon this afternoon by shoving a thumbtack through my Red/Lt. Green 12V+ wire going to my VP44 and hooking up a VOM to it. Sitting in the driveway I let it idle and gave it some light accelerator action until Barney the Wonder Mule warmed up. I opened the throttle to about 2000 rpm once it got close to 190 degrees and ran the accelerator pedal above and below 2000 RPM about 200 rpm either side of the 2K mark. Sure enough within 2 minutes the VOM dropped to 0 Volts and it died. Cycle the key back off and the beastie fires right back up. Got a Full copy of the Factory Shop Manual, 3000 pages of mis-direction. I have a hard time cipherin' whats Gas and whats Diesel ops. Any help would be genuinely appreciated.