• Welcome To Mopar1973Man.Com LLC

We are a privately owned support forum for the Dodge Ram Cummins Diesels. All information is free to read for everyone. To interact or ask questions you must have a subscription plan to enable all other features beyond reading. Please go over to the Subscription Page and pick out a plan that fits you best. At any time you wish to cancel the subscription please go back over to the Subscription Page and hit the Cancel button and your subscription will be stopped. All subscriptions are auto-renewing. 

I am new to diesels and just bought this 99 which ran when I went to pick it up. It started really slowly like the batteries were dying but still ran. I got it home and realized the crankshaft sensor wasn't even plugged in. This was the reason the batteries were not charging. I replaced sensor and started looking around and found alot of unplugged wires in the engine compartment. Tried to start and lift pump was not pumping just making noise. Replaced lp on side of block and got pressure to vp at banjo entry. cracked lines to injectors and there was only a little dribble from any of them. Still no start. My question is: is there a way to rig these trucks to run without controls and with a bad vp just to sell? Or is my vp still good and some other sensor is causing the vp not to work. Thanks for your time and the best resource for these trucks.

• Owner

Welcome to the family Robert...

As for your VP44 issues it was most likely sold with a failed or failing lift pump and the VP44 was on its last leg which is common. If the fuel pressure was or is below 10 PSI its a automatic failure for the VP44. Lift pump is kind of like a oil pump for the VP44. If there isn't enough fuel pressure to get overflow valve to open (greater than 14 PSI) then the VP44 doesn't get enough lubrication or cooling from the fuel because there isn't enough flow back to the fuel tank.