• Welcome To Mopar1973Man.Com LLC

We are a privately owned support forum for the Dodge Ram Cummins Diesels. All information is free to read for everyone. To interact or ask questions you must have a subscription plan to enable all other features beyond reading. Please go over to the Subscription Page and pick out a plan that fits you best. At any time you wish to cancel the subscription please go back over to the Subscription Page and hit the Cancel button and your subscription will be stopped. All subscriptions are auto-renewing. 

Just bought a 2000 ram 3500 cummins 5 speed manual...Having issues.

Glad to have found this forum....Ok, here's the deal. This truck was last tagged in 2011. It was drove/cranked periodically for very short periods while sitting 99.9% of the time. 

I got it tagged and inspected, filled up with fuel. I've put about 350 miles on her trying to see if Lucas fuel treatment  might resolve some issues....as I am new to owning a Diesel, in general. I've done a lot of googling though, LOL. All right, here's what's up. It busts off and cranks fine, every time....but it lopes very hard and spews white/blueish smoke....very strong diesel smell until it warms up a bit. Once warmed or ran, it cranks fine.            Second issue...Usually after a cold start after sitting overnight, it has no power. I'll get to the highway and have to stop and kill it, then crank it and it seems to go. OR, if I start going downhill, once I get 4th gear up to about 2000 rpms, power kicks in...It seems to run all day long at 2150 rpm on the highway, but in town....say 40 mph, 4th gear and 1500 rpm, it will lose power every time, if trying to hold constant speed. Seems I have to push it hard and run on up to 2100-2500 rpms during acceleration to keep the power pouring on. You can hear the clattering change pitch as well as feel the difference. It seems if I gradually slow to below 1600-1700 rpms in 3rd, 4th or 5th gear it loses power. If in 3rd or 4th, I can clutch it,