• Welcome To Mopar1973Man.Com LLC

We are a privately owned support forum for the Dodge Ram Cummins Diesels. All information is free to read for everyone. To interact or ask questions you must have a subscription plan to enable all other features beyond reading. Please go over to the Subscription Page and pick out a plan that fits you best. At any time you wish to cancel the subscription please go back over to the Subscription Page and hit the Cancel button and your subscription will be stopped. All subscriptions are auto-renewing. 

Motor swap question

Hello to all! While I frequent another forum I am new to this one. I stumbled across it and it looks like a really good site. There is a wealth of info. just on the home page! The format is easy to navigate and answers alot of questions without having to look any further. Big thanks to Mopar1973Man for setting this up!!I am looking for an answer to a question I have been asking. The truck in my sig. has a cracked 53 and I have a motor waiting on me and warmer weather to put it in. My truck is an auto. and the motor came from a manual truck. My motor tag says 215 HP and the replacement says 235. The replacement has a fairly new VP44 on it so I thought I'd keep it if I can. Do I need to change the ECM and VP for this motor or operate in my truck? Or can I just use it as is? I'm not worried about the extra 20 HP But I'm not sure if the manual components will jive with the auto PCM. I would greatly appreciate any advice on this or anything else I need to do to make this work. I'm also interested in knowing where the extra 20 HP comes from. Is the VP computer doing it or the ECM?Just trying to have everything figured out as best I can before I do the swap. I don't like suprises!Thanks!! Dave