• Welcome To Mopar1973Man.Com LLC

We are a privately owned support forum for the Dodge Ram Cummins Diesels. All information is free to read for everyone. To interact or ask questions you must have a subscription plan to enable all other features beyond reading. Please go over to the Subscription Page and pick out a plan that fits you best. At any time you wish to cancel the subscription please go back over to the Subscription Page and hit the Cancel button and your subscription will be stopped. All subscriptions are auto-renewing. 

Vacuum Pump Oil Leak Driving Me Insane!

Alright, need some help here before I take a sledgehammer to it. A few months ago I had to replace my power steering pump. I figured since I was going to pull the vacuum pump anyway, I might as well be on the safe side and clean, inspect, and replace the o-rings even though it wasn't leaking. I've now put three sets of o-rings on this pump and I'll be @#$%ed if it isn't leaking again. I make my living as a mechanic but I may need to think about a career change. The first two sets of o-rings were from Gould. A buddy had bought it but ended up selling the truck so he gave it me. I followed the instructions exactly and torqued everything to spec. First time, leaked between the retainer and housing. Second time, same scenario, but leaked from seal lip. This time, I'm not sure. I flipped it the bird, did a lot of cussing, and came in to ask you guys. Each time I have cleaned everything like I was doing surgery. There are no burrs, no wear marks, no dirt, nothing. Only difference I saw between seal kits is that the Gould kit seal fit tighter in the retainer compared to the Cummins. Any help greatly appreciated!