• Welcome To Mopar1973Man.Com LLC

We are a privately owned support forum for the Dodge Ram Cummins Diesels. All information is free to read for everyone. To interact or ask questions you must have a subscription plan to enable all other features beyond reading. Please go over to the Subscription Page and pick out a plan that fits you best. At any time you wish to cancel the subscription please go back over to the Subscription Page and hit the Cancel button and your subscription will be stopped. All subscriptions are auto-renewing. 

Torque Converter Lock/Unlock Issue

Newbie here, and this I my first post.  I am a 61 year old farmer in South Carolina and my truck is a 2006 Dodge 3500 with a 5.9 Cummins.  I'm about to hit 150,000 miles on the odometer and consider this truck just barely broken in.  The transmission is a Garmon Stage 2, built 2 years ago, and I run an EFI Live tow tune.  Of all the trucks I've owned since 1978, this one is by far my favorite. At least till now, Lol.  About a year ago it started cycling the torque converter in and out between  45 and 50 mph.  This problem occurred before I put the EFI Live tune on it.   I have taken it back to Garmon twice and to my local transmission shop many times with no improvement.  I have read through the "Torque Converter Lock/Unlock Issue" thread for the 2nd Generation Trucks on this site twice and tried several fixes suggested there with no improvement.  In fact, researching this issue is what brought me to this site. With a scanner on the truck, the torque converter is doing exactly what the ECU is commanding, and so the consensus is there is nothing wrong internally with the transmission.  If I set the cruise at say 35 mph and then accelerate up to 45-50 mph, it will not cycle the torque converter.  In tow haul at 45-50 mph it jumps between 3rd locked and 4th locked with or without the cruise on.  So far I have replaced the Output Speed Sensor, Throttle Position Sensor, Alternator, Fan Clutch (not for this