• Welcome To Mopar1973Man.Com LLC

We are a privately owned support forum for the Dodge Ram Cummins Diesels. All information is free to read for everyone. To interact or ask questions you must have a subscription plan to enable all other features beyond reading. Please go over to the Subscription Page and pick out a plan that fits you best. At any time you wish to cancel the subscription please go back over to the Subscription Page and hit the Cancel button and your subscription will be stopped. All subscriptions are auto-renewing. 

Engine Harness Rebuild

I've been ignoring this project for a few months, but I recently made some progress.    So I'll share some pictures. 

If you ever have a hankering to rebuild an engine harness, this is your future: 

TheMess_600.jpg

After several failed attempts to untangle that mess, I kicked the Camry out of the garage and set up some tables. 

TapeUpHarness_600.jpg

I finally got a chance to re-wrap the harness this weekend. 

RerWrappedHarness_1200.jpg

• The coiled wire is the "computer" ground that connects to the passenger-side battery.  I will cut it to length and crimp-on the end after the harness is installed.  This entire ground-wire node was rebuilt from scratch using new wire and contacts. 
  • The VP44 connector shell is brand-new.  I replaced the entire DATA (+) and DATA(-) shielded wire, that goes from this connector to the ECU.  I replaced the contact on the #5 FUEL SHUT-OFF pin to repair the wire I damaged while troubleshooting.  And the #6 GROUND, was replaced as part of the ground wire I mentioned above. 
  • I replaced the shell on the C126 connector.   I wanted to do the same for the C125 connector but I was not able to find that shell. 
  • You might notice that the alternator-to-battery wire is no longer integrated into the same wrap.  In an earlier project, I replaced all the battery wires.  So when I took apart the harness, I removed the already abandoned B+ wire.