• Welcome To Mopar1973Man.Com LLC

We are a privately owned support forum for the Dodge Ram Cummins Diesels. All information is free to read for everyone. To interact or ask questions you must have a subscription plan to enable all other features beyond reading. Please go over to the Subscription Page and pick out a plan that fits you best. At any time you wish to cancel the subscription please go back over to the Subscription Page and hit the Cancel button and your subscription will be stopped. All subscriptions are auto-renewing. 

12V fuel economy, or lack thereof...

So I've been driving my 'new'sed 97 DRW for a few months now..12V, 135k, auto, 4.10, 235/85-16s, BHAF, #0 plate, 4" exhaust...Best tank MPG: 13.1Avg tank MPG: 12.3-12.7Talked to a buddy of mine that has near exact truck and mods. He has a #10 plate though.. he averages about 17-18mpg and has very similar driving habits and city/highway mix as I do..Thinking maybe I need to get a few things checked out:timingfuel plate positioningvalve lashThoughts? (ISX) :)

List all of the things you have noticed about it in comparison to your other 12V. I mean ANYTHING. Does it take 1ms longer to start, does it smoke, does it..... 12mpg unloaded is absolutely horrible so if the problem exists within the engine then it would be pretty obvious. Timing would be wayyyyy off. My timing has been from +2* to -20* and I didn't notice but a few mpg difference. Symptoms would get us started though.

Previous 12V:

Timing @ 16*

4" DP w/7" stack, no muffler

265-75-16

#10 fuel plate full forward

star wheel full forward

3K GSK

BHAF

Boost elbow

haze on cold startup/warmup, clean after that, except for obvious acceleration

As an auto: 15-17 city, 22-23 hwy empty 13-15 towing

- shifted normally, didn't seem to slip at all when accelerating as going through the gears

- 2nd gear shift @ 15, 3rd shift at ~30, OD ~40, Lockup ~50mph (all subsequent gear changes after 1st seems positive and firm, no noticeable slippage