• Welcome To Mopar1973Man.Com LLC

We are a privately owned support forum for the Dodge Ram Cummins Diesels. All information is free to read for everyone. To interact or ask questions you must have a subscription plan to enable all other features beyond reading. Please go over to the Subscription Page and pick out a plan that fits you best. At any time you wish to cancel the subscription please go back over to the Subscription Page and hit the Cancel button and your subscription will be stopped. All subscriptions are auto-renewing. 

Low Fp When Cold

Hello All.  I am relatively new to Cummins but have owned my 99 Dodge for a couple years.  It has 265,000 miles on him.  Everything is stock except the previous owner installed an edge EZ and I installed boost and an electronic fuel pressure gauges.  When I installed the gauge last year I installed the t-fitting to avoid the hammer effect.  I have a question.  Here over the past couple weeks (it has been 0-20 F here) when I start up the truck in the AM the pressure will be in the single digits for about 5 seconds and then jump up to 13 or 14 psi.  Do you think this is just because the diesel is cold, or is my lift pump about to quit?  It is a stock LP and I plan on changing it this summer when the weather is a bit nicer.   Thanks

When you say T fitting, do you mean a needle valve? Just because of how many problems people have had, I would want to verify your electronic fuel pressure gauge with a mechanical one. You never know when the sender will go bad on ya. That being said, are you running any kind of antigel in your fuel? Anything lower than about 25 degrees and I always make sure I am either running diesel #1 or at least a good antigel in the fuel.

:iagree: Get that signature filled in so we can help you!

Mine did sort of the same thing when it was starting to gel (0 to -10 deg).... Try putting some additive in. You might have slight gelling in a few the lines, connections, or filter.