• Welcome To Mopar1973Man.Com LLC

We are a privately owned support forum for the Dodge Ram Cummins Diesels. All information is free to read for everyone. To interact or ask questions you must have a subscription plan to enable all other features beyond reading. Please go over to the Subscription Page and pick out a plan that fits you best. At any time you wish to cancel the subscription please go back over to the Subscription Page and hit the Cancel button and your subscription will be stopped. All subscriptions are auto-renewing. 

newbie, 1st post with tread wear effect on transfer case question

Hi all I have a 2001.5 2500 4x4, stock with all the extras, etc. For years I have been a tire salesman but I still don't quit grasp the matching tire thing as it pertains to transfer cases. Now I know it is important to match tires on a full time 4x4. I ask because my new to me truck has all the same size tires and brands but because of a previous owner flat, the right front is almost new while the others are 50%. It seems in we drive in 4 wheel drive only on slippery surfaces, then we do it because the slipping road will take care of the binding by slipping the tires but is there added heat building up that makes it hard on the transfer to run with different tread depths? Im not to worried about around the yard but if Im driving on the hard packed snow for 50 miles at 40mph, am I being hard on the transfere? Does anyone have any experience with this, knowledge of the strength of the transfere? Im more interested in facts and first hand experience verses what we have all heard from others and opionions. Thanks MarkFlagstaff, AZ

• Owner