• Welcome To Mopar1973Man.Com LLC

We are a privately owned support forum for the Dodge Ram Cummins Diesels. All information is free to read for everyone. To interact or ask questions you must have a subscription plan to enable all other features beyond reading. Please go over to the Subscription Page and pick out a plan that fits you best. At any time you wish to cancel the subscription please go back over to the Subscription Page and hit the Cancel button and your subscription will be stopped. All subscriptions are auto-renewing. 

closupman

I am new to this so here we go please bear with me I have a 98.5 24v with a recent starting issue yesterday when I attempted to start my truck everything seemed normal WTS light came on went off truck started and ran for about 10 seconds died and now it will not start cranks very well but will not fire check engine light now shines after cranking I am thinking its a fuel delivery scenario but not confirmed weather at present not best and its sitting in driveway maybe ASD needs reset although recently I have noticed a slight diesel odor after truck is parked for awhile so I am thinking it may be a leak of sorts possibly at lift pump or fuel pump any input on this that I may look into would be greatly appreciated

You need to code scan.

thanks will scan and return

- - - Updated - - -

Hate to say it but it almost seems like an injection pump. But that is an ify idea since it started and then quit. Can you here fuel transfer pump running? Turn ignition on and bump the starter, transfer pump should run for 20-25 seconds.

pump is not running just tried

Have you checked our oil? If an injector was leaking and losing your prime on fuel it would fill up the combustion bowl on piston and full the crankcase which could be bad if it got to far out of hand. But once again it wouldn't make sense that it started