• Welcome To Mopar1973Man.Com LLC

We are a privately owned support forum for the Dodge Ram Cummins Diesels. All information is free to read for everyone. To interact or ask questions you must have a subscription plan to enable all other features beyond reading. Please go over to the Subscription Page and pick out a plan that fits you best. At any time you wish to cancel the subscription please go back over to the Subscription Page and hit the Cancel button and your subscription will be stopped. All subscriptions are auto-renewing. 

Turbo And Boost ?

OK so i need some help understanding the waist gate function. On my truck in my sig i have been running a Smarty S-03 for about 2 years and I have had the waist gate both hooked up and un-hooked with a 1/8 plug in the hole on the turbo. Egt's are much lower with the waist gate disconnected. I thought lower EGT's is better?
I guess my Question is what is the harm of disconnecting the waist gate?

Edited by mulcher812

OK so i need some help understanding the waist gate function. On my truck in my sig i have been running a Smarty S-03 for about 2 years and I have had the waist gate both hooked up and un-hooked with a 1/8 plug in the hole on the turbo. Egt's are much lower with the waist gate disconnected. I thought lower EGT's is better?

I guess my Question is what is the harm of disconnecting the waist gate?

No harm, unless you overboost.

How much boost did you see with the waste gate disconnected?

With the waist gate disconnected and smarty set at level 7 I only saw about 32 max psi. and only for a short period it never held there. I have a boost elbo that came with my edge comp and with it installed the boost was about the same 30-32 psi but egt's were 1300-1500 wot.

Edited by mulcher812