• Welcome To Mopar1973Man.Com LLC

We are a privately owned support forum for the Dodge Ram Cummins Diesels. All information is free to read for everyone. To interact or ask questions you must have a subscription plan to enable all other features beyond reading. Please go over to the Subscription Page and pick out a plan that fits you best. At any time you wish to cancel the subscription please go back over to the Subscription Page and hit the Cancel button and your subscription will be stopped. All subscriptions are auto-renewing. 

Need new truck...rolled my 2002

somethingnuw

Rolled my 02..,, I'm no mechanic...tow 3 x year...but do lots of highway driving...not a work truck...just haul my tribe of 6 around dirt biking 

just got offered a 2008 mega cab with 165000 km not sure what that is in miles 100 maybe....truck is bone stock...

up up here I can rip the emissions stuff out...

is is this a reliable truck? .I use to chew threw the ball joints on my 02 every two years...had 400 k on it never did an injector....

3 Rd gen vs 4 gen....what's more reliable seems all the used ones have the same mileage no matter the age

All of them CAN be reliable, depending on what you do.

If you plan on deleting the emissions garbage, you shouldn't have many issues with the engine other than injectors. Make sure you have a better filtration system than stock. It's the only way to prolong the life of the injectors. 

Transmission wise, are you looking at auto or manual? With an auto, you have to be careful with the programmer so you don't tear up the internals. Manual, you'll probably have to change the clutch out eventually. The DMF isn't known for holding power well.

3rd or 4th gen.... I really don't think it matters if you're deleting. You'll have the same motor either way and the emissions will be gone. 

4 hours ago, TFaoro said:

3rd or 4th gen.... I really don't think it matters if you're deleting. You'll have the same motor either way and the emissions will be gone.