• Welcome To Mopar1973Man.Com LLC

We are a privately owned support forum for the Dodge Ram Cummins Diesels. All information is free to read for everyone. To interact or ask questions you must have a subscription plan to enable all other features beyond reading. Please go over to the Subscription Page and pick out a plan that fits you best. At any time you wish to cancel the subscription please go back over to the Subscription Page and hit the Cancel button and your subscription will be stopped. All subscriptions are auto-renewing. 

Cold start and block heater

Im pretty new to diesels and this will be my 1st winter with one. Last year my transmission was down and then I shipped out to basic. Question 1:I have weak batteries (I need to replace them, but Christmas is making that tough) and I am wondering what all is going on when the "wait to start" light is on. I know the grid heater is one, but what else? What would happen if I just jumped in my truck and started it like a gas engine? The reason I as I am trying to save power for the starter when its cold.Question 2:When, and for how long should the block heater be plugged in before you start? What would I risk if I left the block heater plugged in all the time? High power bill, Fire? waste of time? As always, thank you!

• Owner

WAIT TO START light comes on typically and runs the grid heaters that are draing 190A worth. So if the temps are above +32*F you can start without grid heaters with no issue. Below +32*F you might have issues getting it to start.So now if the block heater was plugged in about 2-3 hours before hand you wouldn't need to wait at all just hit the key and go. Block temperature should be roughly 90-110*F which will also be plenty for a no grid heater start.

• Like 1