• Welcome To Mopar1973Man.Com LLC

We are a privately owned support forum for the Dodge Ram Cummins Diesels. All information is free to read for everyone. To interact or ask questions you must have a subscription plan to enable all other features beyond reading. Please go over to the Subscription Page and pick out a plan that fits you best. At any time you wish to cancel the subscription please go back over to the Subscription Page and hit the Cancel button and your subscription will be stopped. All subscriptions are auto-renewing. 

Cold Weather --- Truck howls like banshee

I am new to Dodge diesels. I have a 2000 model and when you start up at below freezing, there is a howl like a banshee coming from under the hood. It changes sound when you either turn the steering wheel or step on the brakes????? Can anyone tell me what the heck is going on??? After 15 minutes driving, it gets to be less of a racket but as long as its below freezing, it continues. Oh, and the temperature guage never shows over about 130 degrees. I have a new 190 degree thermostat to install when it warms up outside. :confused:

Might be low on power steering fluid. Or just crappy fluid that isn't happy with cold weather. Either way it is something with the power steering pump. That thermostat is likely the 130F problem. One in it is probably stuck open.