• Welcome To Mopar1973Man.Com LLC

We are a privately owned support forum for the Dodge Ram Cummins Diesels. All information is free to read for everyone. To interact or ask questions you must have a subscription plan to enable all other features beyond reading. Please go over to the Subscription Page and pick out a plan that fits you best. At any time you wish to cancel the subscription please go back over to the Subscription Page and hit the Cancel button and your subscription will be stopped. All subscriptions are auto-renewing. 

Help replacing rear axle hub seal

My brakes have been worse than normal lately and with new pads on the front, I knew it had to be the back. My driver side was all sludged with rear end oil so I guess there is a inner seal on the hub leaking.I got my axle out but there is some kind of little lock nut that I need to remove and ive never seen anything like it before. My jeeps never had anything like this full floater and I have never worked on one before so if you have any tips I would greatly appreciate it!

Hello, I just did that same thing on christmas eve at my buddies shop. replaced the seal on the passenger side rear. I have the LSD dana 70. So you need that giant socket and also you have to pull out the key way type pin that holds the seal. Make sure you clean that wheel and brake assembly with cleaner real well. Over all you have the easier set up to do. IT really wasn't that bad just make sure you get the correct seal.

Good Luck,

John

Posted Image

Posted Image

• Like 1