• Welcome To Mopar1973Man.Com LLC

We are a privately owned support forum for the Dodge Ram Cummins Diesels. All information is free to read for everyone. To interact or ask questions you must have a subscription plan to enable all other features beyond reading. Please go over to the Subscription Page and pick out a plan that fits you best. At any time you wish to cancel the subscription please go back over to the Subscription Page and hit the Cancel button and your subscription will be stopped. All subscriptions are auto-renewing. 

Steps for removal of cracked exhaust manifold

I have a 1999 Dodge 2500 Cummins with a cracked manifold that is long overdue for replacement. I bought a slightly used manifold from Drag Racer that is in new condition. I used to be a good mechanic meaning I would always get job done and back together without any parts laying around. I am not in good phyical shape and have issues getting up and down so if anyone has done this and could share with me where you started and especially what you did from the bottom side it would save me several moves getting under my truck and what can be left in place. I am concerned that I might have to break it lose from the exhaust pipe or will I be able to just take the manifold apart from the turbo and have the room to pull it out. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Although I have never removed my manifold I have removed the turbo and from that it appears to me that the exhaust manifold should come off from above. I would recommend removing the turbo and not let it hang on the down pipe. All of that should come off from above. If I am wrong someone will correct me.

- - - Updated - - -

Although I have never removed my manifold I have removed the turbo and from that it appears to me that the exhaust manifold should come off from above. I would recommend removing the turbo and not let it hang on the down pipe. All of that should come off from above. If I am wrong someone will correct me.

• Like 1