• Welcome To Mopar1973Man.Com LLC

We are a privately owned support forum for the Dodge Ram Cummins Diesels. All information is free to read for everyone. To interact or ask questions you must have a subscription plan to enable all other features beyond reading. Please go over to the Subscription Page and pick out a plan that fits you best. At any time you wish to cancel the subscription please go back over to the Subscription Page and hit the Cancel button and your subscription will be stopped. All subscriptions are auto-renewing. 

Battery group size?

19 minutes ago, Mopar1973Man said:

I think it's a group 27 IIRC. 31 might just squeeze in but typically the tray is quite big enough. 

Stock requirements is 750 CCA. Like the Walmart batteries I got are 810 CCA. More than enough to handle subzero starts for 10 plus years.

Perfect sir, that is Everything I need to know. Thank you 

• Like 1

I have been running Odyssey 34M-PC1500 AGM batteries for 8 years so far with excellent results (880 CCA @ 0 degrees F x 2 = 1760 CCA total).  You get a battery that fits the tray, has the standard top terminals and SS studs for accessory connections.

Edited by Joe_Pool
To add information
  • Like 1

I have 2 walmart group 27 for 90 bucks each and they are holding up fine 3 years later. Cant say I dont like the Odyssey batts but much more pricey. The good thing is we all get to decide what our trucks get. Lots of options out there. You just have to keep up with the options.

Factory calls for a group 34 battery, and I think you can fit a group 65 battery in there without modification. Both of these batteries can be got with higher CCA Than a group 27.

Up north here it's all about the CCA, I modded my trays so I could fit group 31's. Gotta love a pair of 950 CCA batteries when it's -30* f, like this morning.

Mark

4 hours ago, Scarecrow said: