• Welcome To Mopar1973Man.Com LLC

We are a privately owned support forum for the Dodge Ram Cummins Diesels. All information is free to read for everyone. To interact or ask questions you must have a subscription plan to enable all other features beyond reading. Please go over to the Subscription Page and pick out a plan that fits you best. At any time you wish to cancel the subscription please go back over to the Subscription Page and hit the Cancel button and your subscription will be stopped. All subscriptions are auto-renewing. 

Ok this is my first time posting here so if I'm missing something please let me know.

I'm relatively new to the diesel world but have read multiple posts on here as well as other sites about replacing a head gasket. 

My first question is do you need to resurface the block in addition to the head when doing a hg replacement on these 24v cummins? Also Is it common for the head to be cracked at 200k

This is my dd and I noticed that I am leaking oil right where the head and block meet. I cleaned it up and drove it some more and it definitely looks like it is leaking from the head gasket.

I would need to replace it during a weekend and want to make sure I will not have any surprises that I am not aware of.

I've looked at getting a new head with rings but I don't know what all I would need to do in addition to just a hg replacement.

Engine is from a 2002 2500, has S363/68/12 with 7x.010 Injectors and a quadzilla adrenaline.

• Owner

Just need a quality head gasket and at least ARP 425 studs. I'm pretty close but have a smaller turbo. (60/60/12).

The only thing you can do is pull the head and have the head checked for cracks then surfaced flat again. You might have the valves, guides and seals looked at.

Oh, welcome to the family. :thumbup2:

• Like 1