• Welcome To Mopar1973Man.Com LLC

We are a privately owned support forum for the Dodge Ram Cummins Diesels. All information is free to read for everyone. To interact or ask questions you must have a subscription plan to enable all other features beyond reading. Please go over to the Subscription Page and pick out a plan that fits you best. At any time you wish to cancel the subscription please go back over to the Subscription Page and hit the Cancel button and your subscription will be stopped. All subscriptions are auto-renewing. 

checking codes in '01 cummins

as my first post i would like to thank you guys for teaching me so much, however i am new to the dodge world and there is so much to learn! i have read that the key trick will not work to check for codes on a 2001 24v. is this true?i do the key trick and i get "P done." the reason why i'm asking is my truck feels a little sluggish. i'm getting good fuel pressure 16-17 idle & 12 WOT. no hard starts, sometimes a little gear hunt once in a while but nothing major. just wondering about the APPS. my truck just hit 81,xxx miles and i am concerned about things that might possibly need maintenance. i got my fuel pressure under control and i'm running 2-cycle oil in my fuel (thanks to mopar1973man) so hopefully my VP stays happy, just worrying about other things. also where is the scan tool port? hopefully my buddy can scan it quick for me. anyways, aloha!

You can get codes from key trick.The only codes you cannot pull is from the abs computer.The scan port is under the dash.If you put your hand on the 4x4 shifter and move your hand to the dash you will find it.Maybe you have bad fuel? It could have water in it.I would get a new fuel filter.What are your plans for the truck? A fass lift pump is better than the factory unit.A smarty is a cool thing to have you can adjust the ecm and read codes.Sometimes you can find a used smarty for 400.00.