• Welcome To Mopar1973Man.Com LLC

We are a privately owned support forum for the Dodge Ram Cummins Diesels. All information is free to read for everyone. To interact or ask questions you must have a subscription plan to enable all other features beyond reading. Please go over to the Subscription Page and pick out a plan that fits you best. At any time you wish to cancel the subscription please go back over to the Subscription Page and hit the Cancel button and your subscription will be stopped. All subscriptions are auto-renewing. 

automatic transmission late shift

Hello every one.

I'm new to this sit and have a 2000 quad cab 2500 4x4 8ft bed, 24v cummins whit automatic transmission I thing it's 4 shifter (sorry i'm new whit this kind of transmission)** & all stock except lift pump which is last week went out and I change it to DRRP02 FASS 110 GPH,other than that untouched truck, anyway, I've to get the RPM over 2k or 22k till shift to the upper and only on the highway goes to 4th and O/D otherwise just only 2 shift. is it normal? I fell engine is under the presser and need the another gear or shift so. In the city with 1500 or 1800 RPM still stays on 2nd shift at 40 to 45 MPH I think is something wrong with it by the way is there any way we can add the one more shift to transmission or not? is any 5 shifter or more is available in the market so we can replace it with this 4 shifter? how much is cost? I knew it maybe the same topic from the other members but I really need your expertise HELP and I need to know what to do as much as I can by myself cause I'm on the very tight budget.

Appreciate for your help.

PS** I'm a semi tractor trailer driver and use to change gears (18-15-13 speed / straghit 10 or supper 10 speed gear box) even my 2000 Honda Accord is 5 speed manual and auto trans is little bit strange for me sorry I don't want to be selfish just want you know my fillings abut the situation.)                   

Edited by Sam53