• Welcome To Mopar1973Man.Com LLC

We are a privately owned support forum for the Dodge Ram Cummins Diesels. All information is free to read for everyone. To interact or ask questions you must have a subscription plan to enable all other features beyond reading. Please go over to the Subscription Page and pick out a plan that fits you best. At any time you wish to cancel the subscription please go back over to the Subscription Page and hit the Cancel button and your subscription will be stopped. All subscriptions are auto-renewing. 

Travel Trailer Help

I'm thinking of getting a travel trailer to live in while I build a house, somewhat long term, maybe 2 years. Any recommendations? Spending about 20k, just for just me for now. I have no idea what to look for or stay away from, any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks,

John

I'm not an expert & everything I have had was used. 

Travel trailers are not expected to be used in cold weather...  typically poorly insulated & heated.  The tanks & piping underneath are subject to freezing.  I was living in my old 5th wheel until we got married...  Dec 30th.  I had pipes freeze while I was living in it...  came home to a foot of water in it when the frozen line thawed during the day (after pushing the fitting apart).  The water supply lines run through inaccessible spaces...  where there's no heat. 

The propane heater couldn't keep up...  I could stay warm with a couple of fan forced space heaters if the circuit breakers would hold.  

Trailers & mobil homes must be enclosed underneath to keep cold air out.  Probably need heat tape / insulation on exposed pipes underneath.   

You may not notice when the roof starts leaking...  water can get into the walls & cause unrepairable rot.  I have rotten sills & there's really nothing practical to do now.  Beware of fabric roofs that need recoating periodically.  I had a new paint on rubber roof applied...  to stop the leaks...  cost 1000 & I thought that was a good price.