• Welcome To Mopar1973Man.Com LLC

We are a privately owned support forum for the Dodge Ram Cummins Diesels. All information is free to read for everyone. To interact or ask questions you must have a subscription plan to enable all other features beyond reading. Please go over to the Subscription Page and pick out a plan that fits you best. At any time you wish to cancel the subscription please go back over to the Subscription Page and hit the Cancel button and your subscription will be stopped. All subscriptions are auto-renewing. 

Towing and tire chains

For light duty vehicles with good tires, I have always been of the opinion that if I need chains I shouldn't be making the trip.  Sofar, through CO, WY, UT, ND, SD, MT & NM oilfield travel in all weather, I haven't been wrong.  

However, I don't normally tow in the winter.  As an engineer, I didn't have to drive the 18 wheelers to location, and they were almost always chained on all drives, steers, and at least one set of drags.  I am going to have to tow my household home from AR to CO this winter (Jan-Feb).  I am on the fence if it would be a wise move to buy chains for my truck and the rear axle on my trailer.  Pix of trailer below.  The cost will be pretty steep for something I may only use once, and then perhaps not at all, especially as there aren't any real mountains between me and home.  I would use the chains as "get to a truck stop" chains only, not as I am going to slog through the last 300 miles at 30mph chains.  

Any experience here?  

I am looking at the below chains. 

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000VAJ17M?colid=186EVLBXUUHHS&coliid=I2FLZMMGO3WLN5&psc=1&ref_=wl_it_dp_o_pC_nS_ttl

PeBxjYs.jpg

1 minute ago, IBMobile said:

How long would it take to drive in 'good' weather and could you hold off the move for a day or two until a good weather window opened that way you don't have to fool with chains.